

#### **SPECIAL MEETING OF MEMBERS MINUTES**

# November 29, 2023 via Zoom

#### 01. Welcome, Call to Order

The Chair called the meeting to order at 8:08 PM ET and welcomed all participants and guests.

# 02. Land Acknowledgement

The Chair read a land acknowledgement as part of Truth & Reconciliation measures that WCL is undertaking.

## 03. Roll Call of the Delegates & Determination of Quorum

The Secretary performed the roll call, as follows:

Chair: Lee MacKay Chair, Executive Committee

**Voting Members:** Mike Drought Alberta

Nick Ugoalah British Columbia

Alanna Stein Manitoba

\*Don Ryan New Brunswick

Spider Jones Northwest Territories

Tim MaGarrey Ontario

Megan Morrison Prince Edward Island

Martine Dugrenier Quebec

Clark Gawryluik Saskatchewan

**Non-voting:** Jess Tang Director, Executive Committee

Russ Pawlyk Director, Executive Committee
Gary Bird Director, Executive Committee
Kelly Rich Director, Treasure & Secretary

Paul Bellavia Director
Rachna Kumar Director
Bill Whiteway Director
\*Daniel Olver Director

**Observers:** Curtis Leung CAWO

Tom Waldron Saskatchewan



Staff: Tamara Medwidsky CEO

Guests: David Bush Director nominee

Bill Haliburton Director nominee Indhyra Helfrich-Linares Director nominee Kim Ma Director nominee Theresa Vladicka Director nominee

Absent: Ian Janes Newfoundland & Labrador

Amanda Silver Nova Scotia Chris Crooks Nunavut

Quorum of voting members was confirmed (8 of 12). \*Late additions to the meeting after quorum was confirmed.

# 04. Meeting Norms

The Chair reminded everybody about WCL's meeting norms to help guide behaviour and conduct. Voting delegates are permitted to vote and speak during the meeting. Observers are welcome, but are only allowed to speak, when identified/requested by the Member(s) or at the discretion of the Chair.

#### 05. Disclosure of Conflicts of Interest

The Chair reminded everybody of WCL's Conflict of Interest Policy. He asked everybody, if they had any conflicts of interest in relation to the circulated agenda and materials, and if so, that they should be disclosed at this time or whenever possible at the time of a particular discussion item.

After declaring the conflict, such individuals are not permitted to participate in the meeting, unless the unanimous consent of all other Members. With such consent, the individual is allowed to remain in the meeting, and participate, but is not allowed to vote or make any motions.

No conflicts were declared at this time.

#### 06. Approval of Agenda

MM-12-23

**MOTION:** To approve the agenda as circulated.

Drought / Gawryluik CARRIED

\* Daniel Olver joined the meeting at this time.



## 07. Acknowledgement of Outgoing Directors

The Chair thanked and acknowledged all outgoing directors for their service and contribution to the BOD over the past several years, noting their direction and leadership in supporting the governance changes.

\*Don Ryan joined the meeting at this time.

#### 08. BOD Nominations

Kelly Rich, Chair of the Nominations Committee, referenced the briefing note previously submitted, providing a summary of the governance revision process, including new steps and mechanisms for nominations. He summarized the recommendations of the BOD and Nominations Committee including the slate of seven candidates.

MM-13-23

**MOTION:** To approve a Board of Directors of nine individuals.

Jones / Gawryluik CARRIED

#### MM-14-23

**MOTION:** 

To elect the presented slate of seven individuals, including terms (in alphabetical order) to the BOD, effective immediately following the conclusion of this Special Members Election Meeting.

- Director-at-large, David Bush (1-year term)
- Director-at-large, Bill Haliburton (1-year term)
- Director-at-large, Indyra Helfrich-Linares (1-year term)
- Director-at-large, Brittanee Laverdure (2-year term)
- Director-at-large, Kim Ma (2-year term)
- Director-at-large, Russ Pawlyk (2-year term)
- Director-at-large, Theresa Vladicka (1-year term)

Ryan / Stein CARRIED

**ACTION:** For future elections, the Members are requesting more detailed information on the

candidates.

#### 09. Next Meeting

To be confirmed.



# 10. Adjournment of Meeting

The meeting was adjourned at 8:48 PM ET.