Wrestling Canada Lutte Wrestling Canada Lutte


NextGen athletes announced for 2020-2021

June 29, 2020

OTTAWA – Wrestling Canada Lutte has announced the 35 athletes who will make up the NextGen program for 2020-2021.

The athletes are broken into Tier 1 and Tier 2. The eight wrestlers who make up the Tier 1 list are Jade Dufour, Hannah Taylor, Tianna Kennett, Ana Godinez, Hunter Lee, Alexander Moore, Aly Barghout, and Nishan Randhawa.

Dufour, Taylor, and Kennett each captured bronze medals at the 2019 U23 World Championships in Budapest, Hungary. Godinez and Lee took home bronze medals from the 2019 Junior World Championships in Tallinn, Estonia.

WCL’s NextGen Program is focused towards wrestlers trending five to eight years out from an Olympic Podium. This program, led by NextGen coaches Carol Huynh and Kimin Kim, will be supported by the WCL Sport Science / Sport Medical Team Leads.

They will direct regional Canadian Sport Institute practitioners working with the NextGen athletes in providing group education and any WCL approved targeted gap strategies for nutrition, strength and conditioning, physiology, sport psychology and health and wellness. On mat technical and tactical development will be implemented by the personal coaches and NextGen coaches with recommendations from WCL performance analyst, David Lopez.

The NextGen Tier 2 wrestlers are:

Karla Godinez
Dejah Slater
Jayd Davis
Victoria Seal
Shauna Kuebeck
Alexia Sherland
Ellise Daynes
Amy Bellavia
Alexia Seal
Berit Johnson
Amber Wiebe
Amanda Savard
Laurence Beauregard
Marco Palermo
Richard Deschatelets
Ikjyot Randhawa
Daniel Coles
Carson Lee
Patrik Leder
Karan Dhillon
Logan Sloan
Connor McNeice
Brayden Todd
Callum McNeice
Ty Bridgwater
Jeremy Poirier
Magnus McCrackin