Wrestling Canada Lutte Wrestling Canada Lutte


Juniors shine at 2024 Canadian Wrestling Championships

March 15, 2024

OTTAWA, ON – The 2024 Canadian Wrestling Championships (Senior, Junior, Cadet) continued March 15, from TD Place in Ottawa with the Junior (U20) competition being featured.

Junior Women

On the Junior women’s side, it was Ontario, who took home top honours with the Provincial Team Award. They finished with a total of 54 points to take the award over second place British Columbia. Ontario featured five gold medalists: Francesca Lo Greco, Brock WC, at 50kg; Bronwyn MacGregor, from Brock WC, at 62kg; Prabhleen Randhawa, from Akhara of Champions, at 65kg; Vanessa Keefe, from Brock WC, at 68kg; and Tehani Blais, from Hamilton WC, at 72kg.

Winning the Junior women’s Club Team Award was Burnaby Mountain WC, with 34 points, edging out Brock WC who finished with 26 points.  Burnaby Mountain featured a pair of gold medalists in Madisyn Grof at 55kg and Rupinder Johal at 76kg.

The Most Outstanding Wrestler for the Junior women went to Annika Fines, from Dinos WC, who took gold in the 57kg weight class.

Junior Men

As for the Junior men, it was also Ontario that earned the Provincial Team Award. They capped a strong day and finished with a total of 54 points, good enough to top British Columbia who finished second with 52 points. Ontario won three gold medalists including: Treye Trotman, London-Western WC, at 57kg; Blayne Helou, Hamilton WC, at 61kg; and Nathan Hunyady, Guelph WC, at 65kg.

The men’s Club Team Award went to Montreal-NTC who tallied 33 points. That bested second place Guru Gobind Singh WC, who finished with 24. Montreal was led by a gold medal from Zaurbek Arsagov at 92kg. Arsagov also took home the men’s Most Outstanding Wrestler.

For full results package, visit the tournament site.

Photos from the event can be found here.

Tomorrow, the Senior men and women are in action. Wrestling begins at 10:00 a.m. If you are in the area, spectators are welcome to attend. Tickets are available at the door. The event will also be streamed on Flowrestling.org.