Wrestling Canada Lutte Wrestling Canada Lutte


2016 CIS Championships: Hosts Brock University looking to three-peat

February 23, 2016

(OTTAWA, ON) – The Brock University Badgers were the first school in Canadian Interuniversity Sport history to sweep the men’s and women’s national championship team banners in consecutive years (2014 & 2015), and will be looking to make that a three-peat, as they host the CIS National Championships February 26-27 at the Bob Davis Gymnasium.

Competition was fierce at the respective conference championships, approximately 2 weeks ago. After last year’s big upset which saw the McMaster Marauders men’s wrestling team steal the coveted OUA Championship banner from the defending Brock Badgers, the Badgers reclaimed their title, earning both the men’s and women’s team titles at the 2016 OUA Championships. Calgary’s Dinos program successfully defended their women’s title at CanWest. The victory marks the Dinos’ 10th women’s wrestling crown and first back-to-back win since winning consecutive titles in 2008 and 2009. On the men’s side, Saskatchewan narrowly beat the three-time defending Canada West champion Alberta Golden Bears.

The CIS Championship is run using a two-pool format, with athletes in each pool being seeded according to their respective conference placement. Wrestlers compete in a round robin in each pool, with the top ranked athletes in each pool meeting in the gold medal match and the second ranked athletes in each pool meeting in the bronze medal match. Pool placements are AVAILABLE HERE.

Tickets are available at the event. Weekend Pass is $15 and single day tickets are $10. Brock students free at the door with student ID.

Livestream will be available courtesy of www.CIS-SIC.tv


Women (inaugural women’s championship in 1999)
2015 Brock
2014 Brock
2013 Brock
2012 Brock
2011 Alberta
2010 Simon Fraser
2009 Calgary
2008 Simon Fraser
2007 Calgary
2006 Simon Fraser
2005 Simon Fraser
2004 Simon Fraser
2003 Simon Fraser
2002 Brock
2001 Calgary
2000 Calgary

Men (last 20 years)
2015 Brock
2014 Brock
2013 Alberta
2012 Concordia
2011 Concordia
2010 Simon Fraser
2009 Simon Fraser
1999 to 2008 Brock (10 straight titles)
1998 Regina
1997 Regina
1996 Brock


2015 Hayley Thomas, Alberta (51 kg)
2014 Brianne Barry, Western (55 kg)
2013 Samantha Stewart, UNB (59 kg)
2012 Emma Brightwell, Lakehead (82 kg)
2011 Gen Haley, Calgary (55 kg)
2010 Gen Haley, Calgary (51 kg)
2009 Heidi Erdle, Calgary (59 kg)
2008 Miranda Dick, Simon Fraser (55 kg)
2007 Hana Askren, Concordia (48 kg)
2006 Emily Richardson, Simon Fraser (59 kg)

2015 Michael Asselstine, Alberta (61 kg)
2014 Michael Asselstine, Alberta (61 kg)
2013 David Tremblay, Concordia (61 kg)
2012 Preston Mikulasik, Lakehead (130 kg)
2011 Vince Cormier, UNB (61 kg)
2010 Shujon Mazumber, Toronto (54 kg)
2009 David Tremblay, Concordia (61 kg)
2008 Dustyn Fisher, Simon Fraser (90 kg)
2007 Jamie Macari, Brock (54 kg)
2006 Sheldon Francis, McMaster (82 kg)

Schedule of Events (Eastern Time)

Friday, February 26
10:00 am – CIS Competition #1 (Bob Davis Gym) – www.CIS-SIC.tv
1:00 pm – CIS Competition #2 (Bob Davis Gym) – www.CIS-SIC.tv
3:30 pm – CIS Competition #3 (Bob Davis Gym) – www.CIS-SIC.tv

Saturday, February 27
11:00 am – 5th, 6th, 7th, 8th Place Matches (Bob Davis Gym) – www.CIS-SIC.tv
12:30 pm – Bronze Medal Matches (Bob Davis Gym) – www.CIS-SIC.tv
2:30 pm – Gold Medal Matches (Bob Davis Gym) – www.CIS-SIC.tv