Wrestling Canada Lutte Wrestling Canada Lutte


Wiebe tops Di Stasio, Moore and Godinez Gonzalez named Outstanding Wrestlers of the Tournament

March 24, 2019

SASKATOON – Erica Wiebe held Justina Di Stasio scoreless in their first match since Di Stasio was crowned world champion.

Wiebe, a 2016 Olympic Champion, defeated Di Stasio, 2018 World Champion, 3-0 in the 76 kg final at the Senior Canadian Championships in Saskatoon.

“Justina is a formidable competitor, and she’s an awesome person and awesome wrestler, so it makes me better every day,” said Wiebe. “My year before Rio was a rollercoaster, so I’m ready for whatever 2019 has.”

On the men’s side, Jarvis continued his heavyweight dominance with another Canadian title at 125 kg. He has captured titles every year since 2013.

“It hasn’t gotten easier; these kids are tough. In my mind, heavyweight is the toughest weight-class in Canada,” said Jarvis. “This nationals is a huge stepping stone, towards 2020.”

Ana Godinez Gonzalez won a senior gold medal to add to the junior gold she captured at yesterday’s Junior Canadian Championship. Godinez Gonzalez was awarded Outstanding Female Wrestler of the Tournament.

Alex Moore won the Outstanding Male Wrestler of the Tournament after winning all three of his matches at 86 kg without a point scored against.

Diana Weicker won the 53 kg title and will be looking to build off her success in 2018, where she won Commonwealth Games gold and World Championship bronze.


Brock Wrestling Club swept the team titles, and Ontario took both the men and women’s provincial titles.

Earlier in the evening, Nick Cipriano and Dale Clancy were inducted into Wrestling Canada Lutte’s Hall of Fame as builders. Carson Lee was also awarded his 2018 Cadet World Championship bronze medal, after having been upgraded from fifth due to a doping infraction.

The 2018 wrestlers of the year were also awarded to Justina Di Stasio and Jacob Luczak.

Olympic Weight Champions

57 kg – Darthe Capellan
65 kg – Dillon Williams
74 kg – Jevon Balfour
86 kg – Alex Moore
97 kg – Jordie Steen
125 kg – Korey Jarvis

50 kg – Jessica MacDonald
53 kg – Diana Weicker
57 kg – Hannah Taylor
62 kg – Ana Godinez Gonzalez
68 kg – Olivia Di Bacco
76 kg – Erica Wiebe


Non-Olympic Weight Champions

61 kg – Scott Schiller
70 kg – Nick Rowe
79 kg – Callum McNeice
92 kg – Jeremy Poirier

55 kg – Jayd Davis
59 kg – Laurence Beauregard
65 kg – Haley Heffel
72 kg – Darrion Sterling

Complete results from the Senior Canadian Championships are available here.

2019 Senior Canadian Championship Results

2019 Senior Canadian Championship Brackets