Wrestling Canada Lutte Wrestling Canada Lutte


Wrestling Canada Lutte announces 2016-2017 Board of Directors

July 06, 2016

(Ottawa, ON) – Wrestling Canada Lutte is pleased to announce the results of director elections at the recent Annual Meeting of Members held June 26, 2016 in Guelph, ON.

Four directors, including John Dawson, John Cook, Jasmine Mian and Jonathan Smith make a return to the Board for 2-year terms, following special 1-year terms as part of the board transition, which began last year. Newly elected to the board for a 2-year term was Steve Rennalls.

This is the second year of elections under the new governance structure, which sees a more streamlined board that more closely follows good governance principles and is better suited to the needs of today’s not-for-profit sector.

The governance transition is still ongoing, with a revised committee structure to be implemented later this year, following recommendations from an external review. The review, completed by the Sport Law & Strategy Group, along with WCL’s participation in the CCES-led Risk Management Workshop was supported by the COC’s NSF Enhancement Initiative.

The Annual Meeting of the Board was also held on June 26th, which included a facilitated board of directors orientation to improve the board’s understanding of duties and responsibilities. Following recommendations from a recently completed high performance health check review, the board also supported the hiring of a technical leader in the near future, that would be empowered to lead WCL’s high performance program into the new quadrennial.

“We have made some significant changes in the last 2 years and continue to strive to make the association best-in-class”, said President Don Ryan. “We thank our membership and our board for their involvement and continued commitment and engagement as stewards of WCL”.

2016-2017 Board of Directors

President – Don Ryan
Director (Athletes) – Jasmine Mian
Director (Coaches) – Owen Dawkins
Director (CIS Coaches) – Leo McGee
Director (Officials) – John Dawson
Director (AB/NT) – Jerry Derewonko
Director (BC/YT) – Steve Rennalls
Director (ON) – Bill Hogarth
Director (ON) – John Cook
Director (QC/NB/NS/NL/PE) – Martine Dugrenier
Director (SK/MB/NU) – Jonathan Smith
Independent Director – TBD

Board appointments for the Management Team and officer positions will take place later this month.