Wrestling Canada Lutte Wrestling Canada Lutte


Wrestling Canada Lutte Announces New Board of Directors

July 03, 2015

(Ottawa, ON) – Wrestling Canada Lutte is pleased to announce the elections at the recent Annual Meeting held June 27, 2015 in Ottawa, ON and composition of the new Board of Directors.

“As an association, our Board of Directors provide invaluable strategic advice and direction to the team on a consistent basis,” says Wrestling Canada Lutte President Don Ryan. “With these recent elections, although a revised governance structure, our strong Board will carry on the tradition of harnessing expertise from our sport nation-wide and reinforcing our direction.”

This is the first year of elections under the new Board governance structure that was approved last year as part of the transition to the new Not-for-Profit Act; a new set of rules that are modern, flexible and better suited to the needs of today’s not-for-profit sector.

Members and roles now include:

Two Year Term:

President – Don Ryan
Director (Coaches) – Owen Dawkins
Director (CIS Coaches) – Leo McGee
Director (AB/NT) – Jerry Derewonko
Director (ON) – Bill Hogarth
Director (QC/NB/NS/NL/PE) – Martine Dugrenier

One Year Term:

Director (Athletes) – Jasmine Mian
Director (Officials) – John Dawson
Director (BC/YT) – Doug Corbett
Director (SK/MB/NU) – Jonathan Smith
Director (ON) – John Cook

Under the new bylaws, the following positions were appointed by the new Board of Directors:

Independent Director – Clive Llewellyn

Management Team:

President – Don Ryan
Director – Clive Llewellyn
Director – Doug Corbett


President – Don Ryan
Secretary – Jerry Derewonko
Treasurer – John Dawson
Executive Director – Tamara Medwidsky