Wrestling Canada Lutte Wrestling Canada Lutte


Rio Olympians Win Canadian Titles on Day 2 of 2017 Canadian Championships

March 26, 2017

(St. Catharines, Ontario) – The Junior / Senior Canadian Championship weekend continued with senior women and men’s freestyle competition. The crowd saw the return of Rio Olympians in action, with Jasmine Mian, Michelle Fazzari, Haislan Garcia, and Korey Jarvis all winning their respective weight classes.

Kiera Prior from the Saskatoon Wrestling Club won both Junior and Senior titles at women’s 82 kg while Brock Wrestling Club’s Chris McIsaac also brought home a second title, winning gold in senior men’s 61 kg, after winning the Junior title at 60 kg the previous day. Nishan Randhawa of the Burnaby Mountain Wrestling Club repeated his feats from last year, defending both Junior and Senior titles in the 96 kg and 97 kg divisions, respectively.

Outstanding wrestler of the tournament honours went to Brock Wrestling Club’s Jessica MacDonald and Jevon Balfour.

The evening included several awards presentations, including Senior Athlete of the Year awards and Hall of Fame inductions. The 2016 Senior Male Athlete of the Year, based on the previous season’s international results, was presented to Korey Jarvis from the Guelph Wrestling Club. Jarvis had an outstanding international season, winning 2nd at the Pan American Olympic qualification tournament and placing 8th at the Rio Olympic Games. Erica Wiebe, from the Dinos Wrestling Club was presented the 2016 Female Athlete of the Year award winning gold medals at the Pan Am Olympic qualification tournament, German Grand Prix and Canada Cup. At the Rio Olympic Games Erica defeated Germany, China, Belarus and Kazakhstan in the final to bring home the gold and the title of Olympic Champion. Erica’s gold medal performance at the Rio Games was also commemorated with a memento of Wrestling Canada Lutte’s Rio competition uniform.

Many Brock wrestling alumni were on hand to celebrate the induction of Brock’s Marty Calder into the Hall of Fame in the athlete category. Bill Hogarth, a fellow Ontario native, was inducted in the builder category. For more information and bios, please visit: https://wrestling.ca/wcl-induct-two-ontario-natives-2017-hall-fame/4292

Other awards presented include:

  • Club Team Award Senior Women: Brock Wrestling Club
  • Club Team Award Senior Men’s Freestyle: Burnaby Mountain Wrestling Club
  • Provincial Team Award Senior Women: Team Ontario
  • Provincial Team Award Senior Men’s Freestyle: Team Ontario

Wrestling Canada Lutte thanks Brock University, the Brock Wrestling Club and the organizing committee for hosting the Championships.

A complete list of match results from can be found at the following link: 2017_Jr_Sr_Results_FINAL

The final day of competition will include Junior and Senior Greco-roman competition.

The 2017 Junior /Senior Canadian Wrestling Championships are taking place at the Ian Beddis Gym at Brock University in St. Catharines, as sanctioned by Wrestling Canada Lutte. Junior and senior competition includes Men’s Freestyle, Greco-roman and Women’s wrestling. The championships serve as the primary event for ranking athletes for junior and senior national team selections. These national team athletes will represent Canada at various events throughout the season, including the Junior and Senior World Championships and Francophonie Games.

Follow the competition live at: www.sportscanada.tv/wrestlingcanada. Live scoring updates and webstreaming will be available on TrackWrestling.